St. Lawrence Graduation Ceremony Celebrates Student Accomplishments

The St. Lawrence graduation ceremony took place last Friday, June 31st at the Centre Montmartre in Sillery. The event is always well-attended, and this year was no different, with students, parents, teachers, and staff crowding into the hall for an evening of celebration.

The program began with a speech by Mr. Edward Berryman, Director of the Constituent College and Director of Studies. He spoke about what it means to be a “Leader”, in reference to the college’s tagline. Leadership is not always about being the star of the show, he explained, but rather about the everyday work a person puts in. These words were echoed by valedictorian Soriya Casals, who closed the night with her own speech. Leadership lives in all of us, she said. 

Representatives from many of the college’s partner institutions and from the management team were present to recognize students for their achievements in academics, athletics, sociocultural involvement, and community service. Thirty-two awards were presented, with a combined value of $32,750. We are proud of all award winners, but we would particularly like to recognize those with the highest achievement in their programs: Sami Benmahbous (Social Science), Danaé Morin (Arts, Literature, and Communication), Laura-Lee Bergeron (Business), and Lara Legault (Science). Lara was also presented the Board of Governors’ Merit Award and the Governor General’s Medal for highest overall academic achievement, in addition to receiving the Dr. David Guthrie Memorial Scholarship.

You can read about the winners and their awards on our website:

Congratulations to all our graduates, and we wish you all the best as you take the next steps in your education or career.

You can access photographs of the event at the following link:


Students enter the hall at the Montmartre.


Director of the Constituent College Edward Berryman addresses the graduates.


Alice Michel and Clara Buzetti present Thomas Welham with the Students' Association Teacher of the Year Award.


Dean of Faculty, Professional Services and Continuing Education Angela Stevens poses with Lieutenant-Governor's Award winners Bon Pham and Sami Benmahbous.


Highest academic achievement winners Danaé Morin, Sami Benmahbous, Laura-Lee Bergeron and Lara Legault pose with their plaques.


Valedictorian Soriya Casals delivers her address.


Images courtesy of Jean-Pierre Cantin.