Bouchard, Cloutier and Hawks earn CCAA Golf Gold

The 2023 CCAA Golf National Championship, presented by PING, took place this week at the Club de Golf Lorette, which provided a beautiful autumnal backdrop and pristine greens for many great hours of golfing. The Humber Hawks took home the gold once again during the final round of play.

The Hawks repeated their win from last year, finishing just four strokes over the Boomerang d’André-Laurendeau, who also maintained their 2022 position. The Champlain St. Lawrence Lions came in third, thanks in part to a strong final round.

André-Laurendeau’s Félix Bouchard won the men’s individual gold, finishing seven under par across four days. Medicine Hat’s Michael Valk took home an individual silver medal and Jake Houston from John Abbott rounded out the top three with a bronze medal.

On the women’s side, Mackenzie Cloutier of John Abbott took home the individual gold. Humber students took the remaining two medals, with Madison Ouellette and Elaine Surjoprajogo earning the silver and bronze medals, respectively.

Among women’s conference teams, the RSEQ-1 team made up of John Abbott’s Mackenzie Cloutier and Champlain St. Lawrence’s Alicia Hénault and Geneviève Jobin-Colgan earned the gold medals. Only three strokes behind them, the OCAA-1 team of Humber’s Madison Ouellette and Hayley McCallum and Georgian’s Bryden Dilley finished second to earn silver medals. The OCAA-2 team of Elaine Surjoprajogo from Humber and Shannon Coffey and Justine Gorham, both from St. Clair, took home bronze.

The following individual golfers earned CCAA All-Canadian designations based on their championship performances:


2023 CCAA Men's Golf All-Canadians

Félix Bouchard (André-Laurendeau)

Michael Valk (Medicine Hat)

Jake Houston (John Abbott)

Cameron Robitaille (Saint-Hyacinthe)

Matt Bremer (Humber)

Matt Morris (Humber)

Trey Ross (Humber)

Ryan Holwell (Humber)

Samuel Breton Gagnon (Champlain St. Lawrence)

Antoine Morisset (André-Laurendeau)


2023 CCAA Women's Golf All-Canadians

Mackenzie Cloutier (John Abbott)

Madison Ouellette (Humber)

Elaine Surjoprajogo (Humber)

Rosalie Langlois (André-Laurendeau)

Hayley McCallum (Humber)


The CCAA Exemplary Leadership Award was awarded to Megan Schaafsma of St. Clair and Mason Gorski of NAIT. This award is bestowed upon athletes that demonstrate attitudes and behaviour in sport that are ethical and create standards for others to follow.

Several golfers and coaches expressed their gratitude and appreciation for the organizers and partners of the CCAA Championship which included: the Host Champlain St. Lawrence Lions; the officials of Golf Quebec; the staff at Club de Golf Lorette; volunteer coordinator Esther Thibault and her team; and the CCAA's sponsors PING, Jostens, and Sport Canada.


Humber college wins gold in the men's team category.

The RSEQ-1 team, including two St. Lawrence students, takes home gold in the women's team category.

St. Lawrence gets a bronze in the men's team category.

Mackenzie Cloutier earns a gold medal.

Félix Bouchard wins gold.

The five women's All-Canadians pose for a photo.

The ten men's All Canadians pose for a shot.